SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar)
SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar)
$137.99 listed price, changes oftenSPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) specs
A cellular trail camera sends photos to your phone over a cellular network, so you see activity without walking in to pull a card. The trade is a monthly plan and a bigger battery draw, because every transmission runs the radio. Figures below are read from the Amazon listing; a figure the listing does not state is marked as such rather than guessed.
| Type | Cellular trail camera |
|---|---|
| Brand | SPYPOINT |
| Photo resolution | 40MP (setting) |
| Video | 1080p |
| Trigger speed | Not stated on the listing |
| Detection range | Not stated on the listing |
| Night flash | no-glow |
| Solar | Yes, per the listing |
| GPS | Not stated on the listing |
| Live view or on-demand | Yes |
Buying options
| Listing | In the box | Price | Per camera | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) | 1 | $137.99 | $137.99 | Check price |
| SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Solar | 1 | $389.99 | $389.99 | Check price |
| SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark (2-pack) | 2 | $299.99 | $150.00 | Check price |
What size SD card and how long will batteries last?
At a 40MP setting and 30 triggers a day, the SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) writes about 7.4GB of photos a month; 10-second 1080p clips at the same pace write about 18GB. See the SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) SD card page for every check interval.
On 8 lithium AA cells at 20 triggers a day, a cellular camera runs roughly 74 days in our battery model, and the integrated solar panel extends that where it gets direct sun. That is an estimate for comparison; the battery calculator adjusts for video, cold and signal.
What does the SPYPOINT plan cost for this camera?
The only major brand with a genuinely free tier (100 photos a month). Paid plans renew monthly or annually. Cheapest tier by monthly photo count, one camera, from the published plan list (confirm in the app):
| Photos a month | Cheapest tier | Per month | 6-month season |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100 | Free | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| 250 | Basic | $5.00 | $30.00 |
| 500 | Standard | $10.00 | $60.00 |
| 1,000 | Standard | $10.00 | $60.00 |
| 2,500 | Premium | $15.00 | $90.00 |
Where does the SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) fit?
Setups where a cellular trail camera like this makes sense: Best Trail Camera for a Hunting Lease and Best Trail Camera for Remote Property. Decisions to settle first: SPYPOINT vs Moultrie Trail Cameras Compared, SPYPOINT Flex-M vs Moultrie Edge 3 Compared, Cellular vs Non-Cellular Trail Cameras Compared, Solar vs Battery Trail Cameras Compared, No-Glow vs Low-Glow Trail Cameras Compared.
Compare with similar models
Tactacam Reveal Ultra ($139.99), VOOPEAK 4G LTE Dual-Lens 360 Camera ($139.99), Bushnell CelluCORE 20 ($133.00), Tactacam Reveal Pro 3.0 ($129.99).
Similar cameras at a similar price
Nearest in price and type from the models we track.
Frequently asked questions
Does the SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) need Wi-Fi?
No. The SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) is a cellular camera: it sends photos over a cellular network and needs a data plan and usable signal where it is mounted, not Wi-Fi. Check coverage at the exact spot before buying, since one bar at the truck can be none in a creek bottom.
What SD card does the SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) need?
At a 40MP photo setting and 30 triggers a day it writes about 7.4GB a month, so a 16GB card covers a month of photos. Video needs more. Cards over 32GB are SDXC, so confirm the maximum size the SPYPOINT Flex-S Dark Starter (solar) accepts in its manual.
Researched from published specifications, brand plan lists and verified owner reviews; we do not claim hands-on testing. General information, not professional, legal or security advice. Trail camera rules differ by state: some restrict transmitting cameras during hunting seasons or on public land, so check your state wildlife agency. Recording and audio laws vary; only record where you have the right to.